Offshore wind critic Jeff Van Drew exits bipartisan caucus

By Heather Richards | 06/25/2024 06:31 AM EDT

The group announced it will add several new leaders.

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (R-N.J.).

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (R-N.J.) at a markup in May. He was once co-chair of the Offshore Wind Caucus. Jose Luis Magana/AP

A House caucus dedicated to offshore wind announced new leadership Tuesday, albeit minus one lawmaker who helped found the bipartisan group.

Rep. Jeff Van Drew, a New Jersey Democrat-turned-Republican, has been increasingly critical of the energy source. In the past, he has tried to link whale deaths to the industry, though federal officials say no such evidence exists.

The Offshore Wind Caucus announced that Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-Calif.) and Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.) will continue to co-chair the group.


There will be four new co-chairs: Reps. Anthony D’Esposito (R-N.Y.), Nick LaLota (R-N.Y.), Deborah Ross (D-N.C.) and Bobby Scott (D-Va.).