Republicans cross aisle to sink contentious mining bill

By Hannah Northey | 05/02/2024 06:45 AM EDT

Sponsors say they are are seeking another vote as soon as next week.

House vote.

A handful of Republicans on Wednesday helped derail bipartisan mining legislation. House Television

A bipartisan mining bill that’s facing opposition from many Democrats and the White House suffered a procedural setback on the House floor Wednesday, with half a dozen Republicans voting to send the measure back to the House Natural Resources Committee.

Lawmakers voted 210-204 to recommit H.R. 2925, the “Mining Regulatory Clarity Act,” from Reps. Mark Amodei (R-Nev.) and Mary Peltola (D-Alaska).

Republican Reps. Andy Biggs and Eli Crane of Arizona, Matt Gaetz and Anna Paulina Luna of Florida, Bob Good of Virginia and Dan Bishop of North Carolina joined Democrats in opposing the bill. Fifteen members did not vote.


Republican Rep. Bruce Westerman, who chairs the House Natural Resources Committee, told E&E News after the vote that he believes Republicans crossed the aisle to express objections related to a separate bill on antisemitism.